I have been in a funk.

I saw a friend of mine who’s lost 17lbs and looks fabulous.  While I am proud and happy for her, I had a knee-jerk, inner jealousy reaction to her success.  Why?  Because I haven’t been focused.  I’m hovering.  I’m letting my relationship with food have too much importance.   I’m living to eat instead of eating to live.  I’m seeking refuge from insecurities and stress in food.

When am I going to learn?

I’m starting over again, mentally, emotionally and habit-wise.  See, just a couple weeks ago I was all zen about this–I got too comfy and now I must re-learn my lesson.

What would I tell a newbie?  Maybe that’s what I need to be telling myself.  Since I’m doing very well in the exercise department

1.  Fill up on veggies.

2.  Rid your home of trigger foods.

3.  Try to make small, healthy choices.  Salad instead of fries.

4.  Plan your meals & snacks ahead.  And keep something with you so you aren’t tempted to stop.

5. Drink lots of fluids as long as they don’t contain sugar.

6.  STOP SNACKING!  That’s not what you’re hungry for.

7.  Eat consciously, i.e. not in front of the computer in total zone out mode.

8. Don’t let yourself get too hungry–that is asking for a round of overeating.

9. When people tell you that you inspire them, take it as a compliment and not as an opportunity to  mentally put your flaws under a magnifying glass.  Okay, this one isn’t for a newbie, but I need to remind myself of this, badly.

Breathe.  I can do this. I AM doing this.

