Today was bootcamp. It’s being conducted by my trainer, Fred, but isn’t affliated with the Y at all.

I pull up this morning at the greenway, dark clouds over head.  Down in the parking lot, I see Fred all camo’d out with a whistle around his neck.  Holy heck.  I haven’t been that nervous in ages.  I was all twisty in the tummy.  What was it going to be like? Would I be able to hang in there?  What if I royally sucked?

See, what you have to understand is that I am very competitive.  It’s a bit ridiculous, actually.  I hate to lose or suck at anything.

Although nearly 10 people signed up, only 2 of us showed.  I guess they were scared of the rain.  So it was me and another lady, Kim, whom I estimate to be about 45.

Not surprisingly, there was a lot of running.  We even did the cadence singing like you see in the movies.  Lots of Hoo-rahs and O Yeahs.  Actually, the cadence singing was more helpful than I anticipated–it helped keep my mind off the fact that I hate to run and it helped me breathe.  We ran 2 miles today and while it wasn’t continuous, it was still 2 miles. The pace was very moderate–probably it was downright slow.  My guess is 5.2mph.  Slow.  But Kim and I were able to keep going without stopping, which for me right now is far more important than speed.

In between running, we did many different styles of push-ups, jumping jacks, sit-ups and partner exercises.  I had the toughest time at the end when he had us doing scissor kicks and flutter kicks.  Holy moly, was I tired by the 15th count of those.  And since I blew it right at the end, we had to start over. DOH!

Fred has this saying: PRIDE.  Personal Responsibilty In Daily Efforts.  He also talked about focusing on the small details so that the big stuff takes care of itself.  I find this really intriguing.  Because usually the sentiment is ‘don’t sweat the small stuff.’  And this is the opposite.  I’m not quite sure if I agree or not.  Hopefully, I’ll get a chance to ask him more about this, maybe get him to elaborate.

One day later:

OMG!  I am so sore.  My shoulders and back muscles are so sore from all the pushups.  Yikes.  I took today off and I’m taking tomorrow off to have a complete recovery.

