Recipe created by me!  Not a bastardization of another recipe–I thought of it all by my big-girl self!  I call it “fusion” because it tastes a bit Hawaiin and a bit Asian…..plus I couldn’t think of anything better, LOL.

Fusion Turkey Meatballs

  • 1lb of the leanest ground turkey you can find, preferably ground turkey breast
  • 1/2 crushed pineapple, drained
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
  • fresh grated ginger, I use quite a bit, but since it’s a potent flavor you may want to go easy.
  • 2 cloves of garlic, pressed
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 375.  Put a large skillet on medium and spray with cooking spray. In a bowl,  combine all the ingredients well.  I HATE touching raw meat so I use a big spoon to mix everything up.  Then I use a small cookie scoop to make uniform size meatballs.  I brown 6-8 meatballs at a time, getting them nice and brown on each side.  When they are brown, I dump them onto a sprayed cookie sheet.  After I’ve browned all the meatballs (this recipe makes about 26-27 depending on what size you make them), I bake them for about 10 minutes.  That’s it!  I think you could even put them in a crock pot after the browning process, but it would take longer. 

A couple notes:

1.  Fresh ginger and fresh garlic are extremely important in this recipe.  If you’ve never tried either one, please do so!  You will be amazed at the wonderful flavor!

2.  There are two gadgets that make this recipe so easy:  a garlic press and a microplane.  The garlic press is a one trick pony, but oh, what a trick it is!  I love pressed garlic because I think the juices of the garlic are extracted more into the dish.  And the microplane.  Well, I can’t tell you how much I love that gadget.  It’s super for zesting lemons, grating chocolate, grating ginger…..I could go on, but you get the idea.

