Are you watching the Biggest Loser?  I am!  I love, love, love Tara.  That girl kicks so much butt and I love watching her do it!  She inspires me so much after I watch–I actually watched BL this morning since my baby woke me up at the ungodly hour of 5am.  By the time the show was over, I was ready to hit the gym.  I called my trainer up to see if he could squeeze me in today and take advantage of the kickass attitude I had.  I told him I’d like to be my version of Tara!  Luckily, he could squeeze in a half hour session.

I can’t believe how much sweat he packed into a half hour.  Seriously.

I did 30 minutes on a treadmill at a 3.5mph, 8-9% incline–HR 155 to warm up.  I did this since the session was only 30 minutes.

Session:
20 kettlebell swings, 40lbs

No name: I’m in a pushup position, my trainer is puts his hands on my shoulders to push me backwards and I fight to keep him from doing it. I’m not supposed to sway or move back. He pulses the movement for 15 reps.

Medicine ball slams, 30 X12lbs (in a squat position, slam the ball down as hard as I can and catch it at waist height, repeat)

20 kettlebell swings with a quarter turn between each swing

30 more medicine ball slams

Don’t know what to call these, but I had to be in a push up positon and hop my feet onto a bench and down–20 times. On the second set, i had to do a push-up every 5 count.

15 standard pushups

This is a crazy one–I was lying on my stomach on a mat. My trainer, who is standing over me, rolls a medicine ball down the backs of my legs. when it reaches my heels, I pop it up as hard as I can back to him. It seems easy at first, but the old hammies are burning by the end. This was in a set with what I’m calling turbo crunches–I do a sit up with my trainer bracing my feet and as soon as I get to the top, he pushed me back down except I am supposed to fight being pushed. This was very hard! 15 of these, alternated with the leg-ball-rolly thing, lol. So, 20 total ball rolly things and 30 turbo crunches.

48 wounded soldiers–I was supposed to do this on one hand, but it was too difficult. So I used 2 hands–basically, I’m down on my hands and one foot, hopping along with the lifted leg held straight behind me. They look goofy, but my quads were on fire!

What an amazing workout it was!  Once again, I’ve proven to myself that attitude is the biggest factor in succeeding.  When I feel like I can kick ass, I do. And when my attitude sucks, so does my workout.  I’m not sure why I have to learn this lesson over and over but I am confident that one day it will stick.

Fred’s starting a boot camp.  5 sessions a week for a month and you can come to as many or as few as you’d like.  And they won’t all be just at the Y–various parks and other places.  He really wants me to join because he knows I’m fueled by competition and teamwork.  I really, really want to do this.  He’s estimating that it will be about $200.  I think that’s a bargain, really.  But we’ll see what the hubs thinks–I’m  pretty sure I can persuade him!

