My dad had a heart attack on Wednesday morning, March 25th.  Luckily, the doctor was able to place a stent and he’s on the road to recovery.  It was a “minor” heart attack and he’s a relatively fit guy, so the outlook is good providing he follows doctor’s orders.  So far, he is accepting it begrudingly–I think mostly for my mom’s benefit.  See, in reality, my mother has far more risk factors for a heart attack than my dad does, so this new this new lifestyle they are embarking on will behoove the both of them.

I won’t lie, it was terrifying–getting that phone call from my mom.  My dad is my original hero.  This family has had much loss in the last year–my father-in-law and my uncle.  My immediate thought was that I just CAN’T handle much more loss, especially not my dad.  Not my dad.  But once I laid eyes on him, I knew he was going to be okay.  He didn’t even look sick and was cutting up with the nurses.  And as I mentioned, the doctor was able to fix him right up.  I am so relieved beyond measure.

So, to get back to the focus of my blog!  I haven’t been able to workout much this week.  Fred wrote me a plan that allows for my lack of exercise over the last 3 weeks.  I actually got to use it today and I can really tell that I’ve lost some of the progess I had made.  (and I drank coffee, which made my heart rate go higher and take longer to recover, doh!)  But man, was it great to be back in the swing of things!  I’m holding at 190lbs, which is a miracle considering my diet lately.  I think I’ve lost some muscle mass, unfortunately.  But I’ll get it back! 

Now it’s time for life to get back to normal and I’m completely ready.  I can’t  believe that my normal includes daily exercise–I was never that girl. And now I am.  How amazing is that?

