Recently, I read a discussion about body image.  In it, one woman said she HATES her body.

 

Oh my.

I’m so dismayed by this, yet I know it is a common sentiment among us women. 

Hate–verb: 

1. to dislike intensely or passionately; feel extreme aversion for or extreme hostility toward; detest: to hate the enemy; to hate bigotry.

And we as women feel that way towards our bodies?  The same bodies that house our souls.  Gestate, carry and nurture our children.  The body that allows us to be self-sufficient and capable.  Our bodies are amazing vessels.

Hate.  I just can’t get over reading that!  Why would a woman hate her own flesh?  Because it doesn’t meet an impossible standard?

It took me a long time to understand that I was never going to be willow-y.  It’s just not my body type–no matter how much I lose, I won’t magically have long arms and legs and be 5′ 8″.  And seriously, it took me a while to get over that.  So much so I let that be a reason to give up on being healthy back in the day.

I am 5′ 3″.  I am an apple body shape–meaning I have very little waist definition.  My butt is flat.  I have large breast that make my back hurt and force me to wear a corset-like sports bra.  I have  a fleshy belly from being overweight, pregnant, extreme stretch marks and then 2 c-sections.  My arms have wing flaps. 

But you know what?  I have two beautiful children to show for those stretch marks. I nourished both of them with my breasts. My arms can do many push-ups and lift heavy objects.  Sure, it’s not perfect.  Hell, it’s so far from “ideal” that it’s laughable.  But it serves me well.  I am amazed at what my body is capable of, what I have pushed it to accomplish.

 Today, I have a training session.  Before writing this post, I was feeling a bit apathetic about it.  Now, I just want to go in there and wipe the floor with my physical prowess, LOL.  So in a super-cheesy way, I am dedicating my session today to all the women who hate their bodies.  I am going to show the world and myself that our bodies are awe-inspiring despite the outward appearance.

Please, if you are reading this, take a moment to find *something* you like about your body.  Something, anything.  And please, be kind to yourself in your actions and how you talk to yourself.  You wouldn’t tell a friend some of the things you tell yourself, would you?  So be kind to yourself, ladies.  Please.

