Oh, man, do I love hummus!  But being the cheapskate I am, I’m not about to dole out $6 in the deli section.  I tried making my own about a year ago and it was pretty nasty  Just wasn’t right.  So I gave up and decided hummus was not for me.  Then one day, Kroger had roasted garlic hummus for sampling.  Ding Ding Ding!  We have a winner!  The roasted garlic makes all the difference, in my opinon.

First thing I had to do was learn how to roast garlic. Turns out, it’s pretty easy.  Cut the pointy top off the garlic to expose the cloves.  Drizzle with a bit of olive oil and wrap up in a loose foil pouch. Put the pouch in a Pyrex dish and bake at 450 degrees for 45 minutes.  This makes your home smell SO, so yummy!  When it’s done, just squeeze the soft garlic from the cloves.

So here’s my hummus recipe–I’ll go ahead and warn you that I didn’t do the math on the points.

1 can of chick peas, drained

1/2 lemon, juiced

1 tbsp tahini

2 medium heads of roasted garlic–this may be strong for some, but I freaking love it.

low sodium chicken broth

hot sauce to taste

salt to taste

 

Drain the chick peas.  Some people say to save the liquid, but I didn’t.  I use chicken broth instead–this is also instead of extra oil.  I don’t think anyone could tell that I didn’t use oil!  In the food processor, put all chick peas, tahini and roasted garlic.  Add some chicken broth (go easy at first) so the processor can do it’s job.  Start adding the lemon juice, salt and hot sauce to taste. Add more broth as needed. You want the consistency of a grainy mousse.  Devour immediately or refridgerate.  I dip baby carrots in it.  My neighbor uses potato chips.  Potato chips are like crack to me, so like a good addict, I stay far far away.

Next, I’m going to cook my own chick peas to really cut costs on this yumminess.

