Roni made a great comment on another blog which she turned into her question of the week:

What is the one thing you wish your parents, your significant other, siblings, or your friends understood about your body image issues?

Roni and many of her readers had some heartbreaking stories that made me cry.  I really started to think about how my parents influenced my weight problem.

Here’s what I wrote:

Dear Mom and Dad,

I love you. Thank you for telling me I was beautiful all the time. I always said, “you have to say that, you’re my MOM!” but I knew deep down you were right. Thank you Mom, for never talking about your own weight even when you became overweight. Thank you, Dad, for telling anyone who would listen that my mother was the most beautiful woman you’d ever seen.

Mom, I do wish you hadn’t used food as a reward, but now that I’m a mom, I understand that line of thinking. But I do remember you cutting my lunch carrots into flowers and I really appreciate that. I also wish you could have curbed your emotional eating better, but you had a pretty screwed up childhood and you are only human. You did your best and I love you for it.

Dad, thanks for going walking with me in the evening during my high school years. Just talking with you was magic–it still is.

Mom, I’m so glad you encouraged me to play baseball in 2nd grade. That lead to lifelong love of team sports and athletics and self-esteem.

Thank you for loving me just as I was and am. I love you.

Brianne

I’m pretty lucky to have the parents I do.  My weight stems from a couple issues:

1.  Genetics–we’re just some people prone being heavy.  Also in the culture of my family, being overweight has no stigma.  It just is what it is. 

2. PCOS–means insulin resistance and it’s a bitch.  I’ve not mentioned it before, but it does inhibit weight loss.

3. Really bad habits and minimal activity.

4. Emotional eating.  And I hit the eater’s jackpot–I eat in all moods!  Happy, sad, bored.

I don’t think I’ve ever truly examined HOW I got to 232lbs by age 28.  I knew in a roundabout way, you know.  But i’m so glad to have it down in list form.  I like that it’s fleshed out (hardy-har-har) and undeniable. Kinda like knowing what your enemy looks like.

