Part of me was avoiding my blog b/c I had a weigh in and didn’t lose a single pound.  I was pretty bummed but knew my culprit (granola bars–when you eat 4 of them they are no longer a low point food, just a FYI for ya there).

Then, I kinda got out of the habit of blogging.  So, I’m firing it up again.

I have lost a grand total of 25lbs! Down to 208. I feel awesome.  I’m withing spitting distance of 200lbs.  I don’t think I’ve been under 200lbs since my freshman year of high school.  Oh wait–I probably dipped under 200 when my boyfriend (who is now my hubs,LOL) broke up for 6 weeks.  I was pretty hawt ’cause I dropped 15lbs on the “breakup diet.”  But that was short-lived because we got back together and were fat and sassy in no time flat!

I’ve been calling this my new “lifestyle” but this weekend I realized that it is finally true.  I couldn’t exercise on Saturday or Sunday due to scheduling, etc and I missed it SO BAD!  When I finally got to go yesterday, I was all Jane-Fonda-feeling-the-burn!  I loved it!  I even did 1hr of cardio instead of my usual 45 minutes. So, I think it’s safe to say that exercise is a habit for me.  I never thought in a billion years that I would love to work out.  It offers so much to me–not the least of which is the mental respite from mommydom.  Don’t get me wrong; being my kids’ mom is great and I wouldn’t change a thing, but having that hour and a half to myself or to chat with the friend who goes with me often is so refreshing.

I went to a kiddie birthday this weekend.  I didn’t even bother to sample the cake or chips because I knew I couldn’t stop myself if I were to start.  I’ve kinda owned up to the fact that I’m not one of those people who can have a little taste and be happy.  I’m happier (for now) just not having any at all–it’s like I don’t know what I am missing.  Those foods will be there when I’m skinny.

And on the topic of learning, I’ve gone without eating processed sugar for so long now that when I do eat it, I get a killer headache. This was learned during the Granola Bar Debacle.  What a deterrent that is!  I use agave nectar and dried cranberries in my oatmeal since it’s a low glycemic index food.  Agave nectar is awesome.  I use it in hot tea and in my HFM salad dressing.

As an aside:  thinner people are way happier for me than heavier people (with the exception of my awesome family).  And gastric bypass patients are even less happy for me.  That is all on them–that’s not *even* about me so I don’t take it personally.  I remember being that way lots of years ago.  Spiteful, you know?   Thank goodness I got over that in my early adulthood and learned to be happy for another’s success.  Now I find it a bit amusing and sad.

Halloween is coming up and it’s my favorite holiday!  I love to dress up.  My mini-goal is to have a total of 40lbs lost by then.  In other words, 15lbs in 2 months.  I think it’s reasonable and do-able.  Hmmm….I wonder what I should be?

It’s so cliche, but I’ve saved the best for last:

I got my nose pierced!  In celebration of my weight-loss in combination with my 29th birthday, I paid someone to shove a needle through my nostril!  Pictures to come, but it’s a little diamondesque stud and I freaking love it!  Remember when you got your ears pierced and it burned like nobody’s business afterward?  This was NOTHING like that.  It only hurt while he was actually peircing my nose.  When he stopped, the pain stopped.  And even then it wasn’t bad at all.  Truthfully, it was one of the neater experiences of my adulthood.  The shopI went to was spotless and the peircer changed gloves 5 times to maintain sterility. 

So here’s to a maintained blog, new goals, and sparkly nose jewelry!

