Delicious!  Joseph’s Flax, Oat Bran, Whole Wheat Flour Pita Bread, only 1 point per pita!  (sidenote:  am i the only one who reads this as pain-in-the-ass?)

 

Found at Wal-Mart in front of the deli counter.  Under $3 for 6 pita breads. What I enjoy most about this product is it’s softness.  They’re flexible and have a great bite to them.

Here’s how I make my (unoriginal) Pita PIzzas

1.  Preheat the oven to 250. Spread the pita with 1tbsp of tomato paste. 

2.  Saute some onions/garlic and put on pita.

3. If you have fresh spinach, layer it on next.  I was out 😦  I love, love, love fresh spinach.

4. Tear up two slices of mozzerella cheese and lay on the pita.

5.  Turn oven to Low Broil and pop the pizza in.  Watch carefully and pull it out when he cheese gets brown on the edges! 

Seriously, yum.  And with endless topping possibilities.  Pair with a salad and you’ve got lunch.  You could even expand on the concept and have a “Build Your Own Pizza Night” with this idea–the non-dieters in the family could use regular pizza or those store-bought crusts.  I know, I know–i could make my own pizza dough.  Maybe that’s something I’ll explore in the future….I’ve had some pretty revolting results in the past.

