Last week, I started becoming the outwardly person I want to be.

First, let me say that I feel pretty comfy with who I am essentially.  Sure, I could ease up on my smart mouth and not gossip as much as I do or be a better housekeeper.  But for the most part, I’m happy.  I feel like I’m a good wife, mother and friend.  I love my life, deeply.

I’m about to turn 29 next month.  Not too terribly sure how that happened so fast.  I’ve spent the better part of my adulthood being overweight.  I think part of me half-expected the fat to just magically melt off.  Another part of me felt that weight-loss was pointless and I should work on acceptance.

I’m not really sure what has changed in me.  I guess this blog is to help me explore what’s going on in my head right now.  I do know that I’ve decided to not be lazy about my weight anymore.  Back when an athlete (don’t get too excited, just a decent player on a crappy high school team 🙂 ) I was overweight but felt pretty fit.  Then came college and it’s overwhelming, exciting freedom.  And boyfriends.  And then a serious boyfriend who turned into a husband.  Then domestic bliss and learning how to cook all my favorite foods.  And then, two pregnancies.

Yikes.  If I had known how much more challenging it is to be healthy after settling into the domestic bliss, I would have lost the weight back in college.  That would have been so frickin’ easy.  Ah, hindsight.

So, 30 is dancing around mockingly on my horizon.  That’s cool.  30.  I can handle it.  I’m using my last year as a 20something to turn my health around.  Ever see stores about centenarians?  Obese people don’t live to be 100 very often.  I’ve decided I want to live to be 100.  Luckily, I’ve got some pretty good genetics going already, but I’ve got to help them out.

I’ve “joined” Weight Watchers and the YMCA.  It’s in quotations because I’m not paying Weight Watchers.  I’ve borrowed the paper materials from a friend and the web is an insanely useful tool for diets.  I chose WW because they have a program for nursing mothers.

I started my health turnaround last Monday, July 7th. I’ve lost 8lbs. so far.  I’m certain it’s easy to lose quite a bit of water weight in the beginning–that type of loss can’t be sustained.  I’m shooting for 1lb a week.  At that rate (including the 8 I’ve lost so far), it will take me until next fall to be my goal weight.  I’m good with that.  It will probably take at least that long to re-learn my lifelong bad habits.

